JRGS Teaching Staff late 1954, prior to opening of Upper Shirley Road site in Spring 1955
As Paul Graham (JRGS 1959-66) points out: "It is fascinating to think that 11 of these masters were still teaching at John Ruskin Grammar School 10 years later in 1965, and that two others - Mr. Neale and Mr. Richardson - stayed until about 1960. The continuity of such a senior core of staff must have contributed to the increasing prestige of JRGS during the decade after the move to Shirley from Central Croydon."
Back row (left-to-right): Mr. Warne (1953-59), Mr. Hancock (1947-65), Mr. Culcheth (1955-57), Mr. Wright (1953-59), Mr. Clark (1954-58);
Middle row: Mr. Basil (19??-??), Mr. A. Murray (1952-77), Mr. Lawes (1953-56+), Mr. D. Rees (1952-72), Mr. G. Richardson (1949-60), Mr. Neale (1953-59), Mr. Gee (1945-71+), Mr. Smith (1942-78), Mr. Peacock (1948-71+);
Front row: Mr. Whellock (1946-56), Mr. Pearman (1936-69), Mr. Cracknell (1936-76), Mr. Lowe (1945-73), Mr. Chaundy (1945-69), Mr. Fisher (1951-56+) and Mr. Pearce (1944-70).
Mel Lambert (JRGS 1959-65) adds: "William Cracknell was with the school for an astonishing 40 years; Charles Smith 36 years; Leonard Chaundy 34 years; George Pearman 33 years; John Lowe 27 years; Vincent Gee at least 26 years; Ronald Pearce 26 years (a sad death indeed); Alan Murray 25 years; Charles Peacock at least 23 years; David Rees 20 years; and Joseph Hancock 18 years."
Our sincere thanks to Mike Marsh (JRGS 1949-55) for supplying this vintage photograph.