The Croydon Archives:
In early December 1949, John Ruskin Grammar School was subject to another official inspection - this time by the new Ministry of Education. Page 2 provides a good overview of the school and the system in which it operated.
The report is fascinating for all sorts of reasons, and very different to the present school inspection regime. The Alumni should be able to identify Mr. Lowe, Mr. Hancock, Mr. Smith, Mr. Chinnock, Mr. Alexander and Mr. Pearce, Mr. Gee, Mr. Peacock, and others.
This was the latest report to be
located in the Croydon Archives - there are none, unfortunately, with a
more recent date. It is suspected that Mr. J. C. Lowe kept this document
privately on his bookshelf as it probably would have been the first HMI
inspection during his career as head at JRGS. He would have been very
proud of it. (Notice the handwritten comments in the margins, almost
certainly attributable to Mr. Lowe. The report was probably the one in the
headmaster's office when the Shirley site closed in the early Nineties.)
Click on any of the following images
to access a full-size version of the corresponding page.
Unless otherwise indicated, all scanned images and
quotes on this page are Copyright Croydon Council, and are
reproduced by permission of Croydon Local Studies Library and Archives Service.
Please send any messages and memorabilia to Alumni webmaster. Last revised: 06.07.10